Jump for Joy: An Everyday Square Card Idea!

You may recall the “joy…jump for it” sentiment that was printed out with my Halloween images yesterday. Today you can see what I have done with it! The card you are about to see is a hybrid if you will…it combines handcrafting with digital designing. Hopefully you will agree with me that this combination works! Here it is:

20120808-085137.jpg

20120808-085147.jpg

20120808-085156.jpg

20120808-085203.jpg
Did you notice the third photo? Not so pretty but only you are seeing this, not the card recipient. Okay so the recipient will if she reads this post! I did want to show you this image though and tell you more about it. When I wrapped the ribbon around the back of the sentiment and designer series paper, I need to coax it into the right spot in order to tie the bow in the opposite corner. I used some of my snail adhesive in order to do so. I also applied a little adhesive on the front side in the corners where the ribbon meets the card stock and paper.

Do you ever tie bows on packages the way I have shown on the card? It is the most often used method for me. It is nice because the recipient can easily pull of the ribbon without needing to get out scissors. And I am quite certain this technique uses less ribbon that more traditional crisscrossing ribbon tying does. I also like this method because it is less cumbersome than having to flip over a package when putting on the bow. Now back to the card…

When I was first “building” the card, it did not include the Early Espresso card stock, however when I saw that the ribbon faded away onto the Birds of a Feather Designer Series Paper that I used as the background. The Early Espresso works, however, I think I might have like Soft Suede more. However, I apparently really like Soft Suede and could not so much as find a single sheet or scrap of it anywhere in my crafting space. Time to re-order!

Enjoy!

Kerry

Supplies used:
Birds of a Feather Designer Series Paper 126899
Naturals White card stock 102316
Early Espresso card stock 119686
3/8″ Taffeta ribbon in Whisper White 109070
Fantabulous You Stamp Brush Set 129920
mds 2 – click here to see all your options including a free 30 day trial

Leave a Reply

