Zoo Review Zebra Card, part one of four

The next several days (four to be exact) I want to show you the notion of taking a card and “stepping it up”…i.e. starting with a basic card and adding on complexity.

In the context of a Stampin’ Up! workshop, a demonstrator might have guests do a make and take using one of the the cards I show you today, tomorrow or perhaps the even on Thursday. A make and take is just what it sounds like…you make the card and you take the card home from the workshop. The card you see on Friday is something that a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator simply demonstrates and shows to attendees…and perhaps the hostess gets to keep it for herself each day, I will “step up” the card that we are starting with today.

Today’s card is about a simple as I ever go though frankly you could make it even simpler by stamping on the base of the card as opposed to a separate layer. I also elected to “tip” the edges by dragging them across my ink pad…some people would also call this distressing. Below are a few different options for placement of the stamped image.

20120703-090824.jpg

20120703-090831.jpg

20120703-090838.jpg

Again, this is a very basic card option. While I am a firm believer in keeping my card making simple, this is more basic than I typically go. However, if you were looking to make a batch of notecards really quickly, this could be the perfect choice.

You’ve seen that I chose the zebra from the Zoo Review stamp set to feature this week. In my mind, nothing says summer like a trip to the zoo! For my blog readers in Australia…g’day and hope you are enjoying winter! Same goes for other readers from the southern hemisphere.

Truth be told, we like to go to the zoo year round as the crowds are much more sparse in the cooler months. This year we spent New Year’s Day at the zoo and felt like we had the place to ourselves. We are members of the Roger Williams Park Zoo in Providence, RI.

What is your favorite zoo?

See you later this week as I take this card foundation and build upon it!

Kerry

Leave a Reply

