Mojo Monday and Pals Paper Arts…all in one

My schedule this past week did not allow time for card making and so when I finally had a chance to sit down, I realized that this was a Pals Paper Arts color challenge week in addition to the weekly Mojo Monday challenge! Those who know me well will say that I like to multitask so I decided to make one card that was inspired by both challenges.

Here is the card that I made:

Stamped images c. Stampin' Up!

And, here are the two challenges that were presented this week…

A few notes about my card…

In addition to using Pretty in Pink (item # 100459) , Certainly Celery (item # 105125), and Chocolate Chip (item # 102128), I added in some Crumb Cake (item # 120953) and Naturals White (item # 102316) card stock.

For the subtle sentiment on the “flag”, I used my Wild Wasabi Stampin’ Write Marker (item # 120975).

Using the Blossom punch (item # 125603) allowed me to create an overall shape similar to a circle for the center of my card. It is also becoming more and more clear in my mind that I really need to invest in the Circle Scissor Plus tool (item # 112530) and the Circle Scissor Plus Glass Mat (item # 112531) since so many challenges incorporate large circles. Tracing a cup or other round object is certainly an option — very careful cutting is needed to achieve a crisp and even circle.

Right now Stampin’ Up! has some beautiful 5/8″ Satin Ribbon available in Chocolate Chip (item # 124327) and apparently I never had marked my 5/8″ Grosgrain ribbon as being retired. So while you can obtain the same size and color effect as what I’ve shown, your bow would have a smooth satin finish…unless of course you too have some of wide grosgrain in your stash of supplies.

This card also uses the Scallop Edge Border Punch (item #119882) and I also used my 1-3/8″ Square Punch (item # 119877). Not seeing where I used it? When I was looking at Mary Fish’s blog entry about her Pals Paper Arts inspiration card, I noticed that she had a tutorial about how to make a flagged end.  Be sure to take a look to learn how to use a square punch to achieve a crisp and even flagged end rather than pulling out your scissors! I’ve long admired the cards that Mary features on her Stampin’ Pretty site and of course the many ideas she shares.

Hope everyone enjoys their weekend!

Until next time,

Kerry

2 responses to “Mojo Monday and Pals Paper Arts…all in one

  1. Nice use of the colors, Kerry! That Blossom punch does the trick but I’m with you on purchasing the Circle Scissors! 🙂 Thanks for joining us at the Pals.

Leave a Reply

