DIY – Transforming a Composition Book

One of the things I love about paper crafting is that you can quickly take an ordinary product, pair it with some beautiful paper, and end up with a one-of-a-kind item.  This evening (in less than 15 minutes including gathering my supplies), I took a basic composition book and turned it into a cheerful and colorful notebook to keep track of my “to dos” and phone messages.

Here is what I started with:

And here is the end result…outside:

and inside:

 

Quick, easy and all mine! The supply list is very short — one composition book, 4 sheets of designer series paper, coordinating ribbon, and some multipurpose liquid glue (item # 110755). For paper I used Stampin’ Up!’s Berry Blossom Designer Series Paper (item # 122350) and my ribbon is 3/8″ Ruffled Ribbon in Wisteria Wonder (item #122973). And truly, less than 15 minutes total to gather my supplies and transform the composition book.

If you wanted to use just 2 sheets of designer series paper, you could and you could use a band of coordinating card stock where I have the ribbon to fill the gap between where a 6″ wide piece of designer series paper would end and the seam cover of the composition book begins/or writing paper is located on inside. To fill all the space with the designer series paper, I needed pieces 6.5″ x 9-3/4″ for the outside and 7.5″ x 9-3/4″ for the inside which dictate using the 4 sheets of designer series paper.

These composition books make nice gifts and brighten up any work and/or study space! In a past job that I held, I had about 5 composition books in use — one for each major responsibility of my job. They were perfect for all of my meeting notes, project ideas, etc. and each had a different pattern so each was truly a unique piece.

What ordinary objects for you like to transform into one-of-a-kind items using just a little paper and perhaps some ribbon or other accessories? I’d love to hear about them!

Until next time,

Kerry

 

Leave a Reply

